Chickasaw Wiley Barnes, Director of Chickasaw Press, appointed to two boards of directors | Local News

The Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) and the Oklahoma Center for the Book (OCB) have appointed Wiley Barnes, director of Chickasaw Press, to their organizations’ boards of directors. Mr. Barnes, a Chickasaw citizen, brings his

The Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) and the Oklahoma Center for the Book (OCB) have appointed Wiley Barnes, director of Chickasaw Press, to their organizations’ boards of directors.

Mr. Barnes, a Chickasaw citizen, brings his expertise to the respective groups as they promote inclusion in publishing, as well as the vital role of books and reading.

“I am very happy and delighted to serve these incredible organizations,” said Mr. Barnes. “OCB and IBPA do so much for independent publishers. I hope to contribute and provide a perspective of the only known and active tribal press in the United States. It’s so important to share our Chickasaw story with others and hopefully inspire other First Americans to do the same. “

He takes an overview of a 21-year career in the publishing industry – 15 of those years serving the Chickasaw Nation and its mission to improve the overall quality of life for the Chickasaw people.

During his time with the Chickasaw Nation, he worked on a number of projects promoting the Chickasaw culture and celebrating the Chickasaw people.

Mr. Barnes is the author of the non-fiction children’s book, “C est pour Chickasaw”, which received a Benjamin Franklin Gold for Best New Voice: Children / Young Adult and a Bronze Moonbeam for a New Year’s Book. multicultural non-fiction images. It was also a finalist for the Oklahoma Book Award and was adapted into an app in 2017, followed by a coloring book in 2018. “Funny Fani ‘” is Mr. Barnes’ second upcoming children’s title and is slated to be released soon. fall 2021.

Association of Independent Book Publishers

The IBPA focuses on small independent publishers and advocates for inclusiveness in publishing. It strives to level the playing field for small independent book publishers through educational opportunities, publications and advocacy.

Mr. Barnes sits on the IBPA’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, a standing committee tasked with serving as a think tank and advisory board on issues of diversity, equity and inclusion within from the IBPA and the independent publishing community. The committee reports to the IBPA Board of Directors.

Their specific goals as a committee include recruiting and retaining a diverse membership base, developing ways to engage and support underrepresented groups, identifying opportunities for diversity, equity and development. inclusion as well as suggesting programs and services to serve diverse communities.

Mr. Barnes joins Alesha Brown, Maria Dismondy, Jennifer Flaig, Luda Gogolushko, Ashley Marie Mireles, Keith Newhouse, Karla Olson, Joylynn Ross, Victoria Sutherland, Brooke Warner, Kirk Whisler and Nataly Michelle Wright on the IBPA committee on diversity, equity and inclusion.

Oklahoma Center for the Book

The OCB is a state affiliate of the Library of Congress Center for the Book and was organized to draw attention to the vital role of books and reading.

According to the organization, it promotes the past, current and future works of Oklahoma authors, as well as the state’s literary heritage. It also encourages reading for fun by Oklahomans of all ages.

Readers and writers gather at libraries and bookstores across the state for special events hosted by the OCB.

Along with the Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book nonprofit, OCB has sponsored the annual Oklahoma Book Awards for 30 years. With the Oklahoma Book Awards, a jury rewards works written by an Oklahoma or about Oklahoma in the categories fiction, non-fiction, children / young adults, poetry and design / illustration.

The OCB also annually honors an Oklahoman who has contributed to the state’s literary heritage by presenting the Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award, named after Norman historian Arrell Gibson, the Centre’s first president.

Mr. Barnes joins Bob Burke, Margaret Carlile, Glenda Carlile, Karen Klinka, Lynn McIntosh, Troy Milligan, Richard Rouillard, Kristin Sorocco, Leah Taylor and Emily Hall as members of the OCB Board of Directors.

Chickasaw Press

The Chickasaw Nation created the Chickasaw Press in response to the basic need of the Chickasaws to tell their own story. Established as a Chickasaw Nation entity in 2006, the Chickasaw Press is the first tribal publishing entity of its kind.

The Chickasaw Press publications allow the tribe to share its rich history and culture with everyone and educate the citizens of the Chickasaw Tribe while improving relationships within the community as a whole.

White Dog Press is a secondary imprint under the Chickasaw Press. It allows Chickasaw Press to build on its vision of “preserving, perpetuating and communicating the history and culture of Chickasaw” by embracing popular genres and creative endeavors that fall outside the scope of research and development. scholarship.

White Dog Press creates an opportunity for the Chickasaw Nation to share the history, culture and experiences of the Chickasaw people through literary categories such as historical fiction, children’s books, young adult literature, how-to books, travel writings and other categories.

For more information visit or call (580) 436-7282.

Source link